TOSP regional awardees honored in USL

Tuguegarao City – Twenty young leaders from Cagayan Valley Region were bestowed recognitions during the Ten Outstanding Students of the Philippines (TOSP) Region 02 Awarding Ceremonies, Aug. 4, 2017 at the Bulwagang Teodulfo Domingo of the University of Saint Louis (USL).

The regional awardees and other finalists with Archbishop Sergio L. Utleg of the Archdiocese of Tuguegarao (center right), Philippine Information Agency RO2 Director Purita S. Licas (center left), and other officials who worked for the search.  

The TOSP Region 02 awardees are the following:

  • Mark Lee B. Babaran (Saint Paul University Philippines)
  • Mark Anthony P. Baliuag (Saint Paul University Philippines)
  • Louise Aldeim I. Burgos (Saint Mary’s University)
  • Jomar A. Felix (Philippine Normal University – North Luzon)
  • Harvin Julius A. Lasquero (University of Saint Louis)
  • Marvin B. Pagsuyoin (University of La Salette)
  • Aira V. Pangilinan (University of La Salette)
  • Brendan Jansen L. Tangan (Saint Paul University Philippines)
  • Joshua Q. Tumanguil (Cagayan State University – Andrews Campus)
  • Jordan C. Ursua, Jr. (Quirino State University)

The other finalists are: Jayson T. Dunuan (International School of Asia and the Pacific), Mervin Jay M. Go (Saint Mary’s University), Mari Anne F. Madrid (Our Lady of the Pillar College), Christian Hector G. Misanes (Aldersgate College), Mighty C. Molina (Cagayan State University – Aparri Campus), Antonio M. Narciso III (University of La Salette), Charlene Joy B. Quintos (University of Perpetual Help System), Mark John R. Rapanan (Cagayan State University – Gonzaga Campus), Chantal Therese B. Tayaban (Saint Mary’s University), and Katrina A. Tejada (University of Cagayan Valley).


TOSP-inspired. The regional awardees join Dr. Valdez (center) in a photo opportunity.

Dr. Johnattan E. Valdez, TOSP 2011 regional awardee and national finalist, was the guest speaker. He is a teacher and the Senior High School coordinator of Bintawan National High School in Villaverde, Nueva Vizcaya.

Urging all the awardees and other finalists, his fellow TOSP alumni present during the event, and those with passion for learning, leading, and serving, Valdez said, “Never stop learning and do well when engaged in learning because our greatest weapon to liberate ourselves and others is through education. We, too, should persist in taking the lead in having a good fight for the common good because who else will do it if not us? We, too, should remain faithful to our ministry or service we have started because this gives more meaning to our existence.”

“We should accept our mission and be thankful for it by doing well for ourselves and for others to fulfill God’s beautiful and majestic plan on earth,” Valdez further said. “Being thankful means not aiming for publicity, recognition and honor, not even the number of likes or followers on social media, instead – doing things because it is the right thing to do for humanity, for God’s greater glory.”

Meanwhile, Lasquero, a 2017 BS Architecture graduate of USL, said in an e-mail that he was honored to celebrate leadership with the other 19 outstanding students of the region.

Also, he has a message to his fellow Louisians. “To all the Louisian leaders out there, never miss a good opportunity. Be an advocate and set yourself as a model. Leadership is like a ripple, if you touch lives, there’s a movement. Big or little opportunity, grab it!! For in gentle waves, we can shake the world. And in our own little ways, we can make a difference anyway.”

Lasquero is a Philippine Model Congress ambassador in the Senate of the Philippines.

The 10 regional awardees will advance to the national TOSP search.

The TOSP is an annual search for students who are “role models of academic excellence, exemplary leadership, good moral values, and socio-civic consciousness.” It drew inspiration from the life of Dr. Jose Rizal, the Philippines’ national hero. Jose Concepcion, Jr. of RFM Corporation founded the search on June 19, 1961, the hero’s 100th birthday.